Nominations open for 2016 BC Health Care Awards, Order of British Columbia

Nominations open for
2016 BC Health Care Awards,
Order of British Columbia

Recognizing outstanding achievements in health care delivery across the province, 2015 Vanderhoof winner

VANCOUVER – Nominations are open for the 10th annual BC Health Care Awards. The BC Health Care Awards celebrate successes and achievements in BC’s health care system, and recognize people who provide outstanding care and support. Awards are for projects that improve health care delivery, and for individuals who make a positive impact and inspire those around them.

Nominations will be accepted online at until February 26, 2016. Health care colleagues and members of the public – including patients and their families – have the opportunity to recognize and thank health care employees in their communities by submitting a nomination.

“As we continue to invest in the health of all British Columbians and foster a system that is truly patient-centred, it’s important to recognize the contribution of health care professionals working to deliver extraordinary health care to the people of this province,” said the Health Minister Terry Lake. “British Columbia has among the best health care in the world, and for the past 10 years the BC Health Care Awards have showcased this in all corners of our province.”

Heather Floris, the Head Nurse covering a busy rural ER at St. John Hospital in Vanderhoof was Northern Health’s 2015 Health Care Hero winner. In addition to her tireless commitment to the staff, physicians and patients at St John Hospital, her dedication to the community is seen through countless volunteer hours.

“It was incredibly meaningful to win a BC Health Care Award,” said Heather. “I arrived in Vanderhoof in 1995 as a newly registered nurse, and to be recognized by my peers and the health care community 20 years later for helping people at their most vulnerable is truly rewarding – it’s the reason I became a nurse.”

To hear more about Heather’s story and the inspiring stories of all previous winners, visit our YouTube channel.

Since the awards were launched by the Health Employers Association of BC in 2007, 101 Gold Apples and 77 Awards of Merit have been awarded to health employees who are improving BC’s health care system.

Visit and follow us on Twitter or Facebook to learn more.

Winners will be announced at a luncheon in Vancouver on June 27, 2016.


Nominate an exceptional citizen in Vanderhoof for the Province’s highest honour

Nominations are now open for the Order of British Columbia, the Province’s highest honour for individuals who have served with great distinction or excelled in any field.

Within the community of Vanderhoof, Mary John Sr. was previously awarded the Order of Canada in 1997. As a respected elder of the Carrier Nation at Saik’uz First Nation, John was recognized for her dedication to the community, including her role behind positive initiatives and as a conciliator between aboriginal and non-aboriginals.

British Columbians are encouraged to consider and nominate inspiring individuals who have left a lasting legacy in their respective fields. The Order of British Columbia is one way of rewarding and recognizing those British Columbians whose extraordinary contributions and achievements have contributed to a better quality of life in the province and beyond.

“As the Province’s highest honour the Order of British Columbia represents generosity of spirit, dedication and outstanding achievement,” said Judith Guichon, Lieutenant Governor and Chancellor of the Order of British Columbia. “I encourage everyone to reflect on those in their community whose leadership, hard work and extraordinary accomplishments serve to strengthen the integrity of our province and to recognize these individuals by nominating them as a member of the Order of British Columbia.”

Since the Order of British Columbia was established in 1989, the Province has recognized 386 British Columbians from a variety of sectors including the business, volunteer, arts and sporting communities. Previous recipients include:


* Baljit Sethi, advocate for immigrants and for equality (2011)

* Dr. Robert Thirsk, astronaut, mechanical engineer and physician


* George Bowering, First Poet Laureate of Canada and historian (2004)

* Ellen White, social activist and medicine woman (2011)

* Diana Krall, jazz vocalist and pianist (2000)

* Trevor Linden, NHL hockey player and humanitarian (2003)


“I’m still processing the enormous honour of receiving the 2015 Order of B.C.,” said Tamara Taggart, news anchor at CTV Vancouver and 2015 inductee to the Order. “Whether it’s in the public eye or behind the scenes, there are so many people working hard every day to make their communities and our province a better place to live. I think it’s important to make sure those kinds of contributions are recognized – and that’s what the Order is all about.”

“Receiving the O.B.C. was a pivotal moment in my and my family’s life,” said Lorne Segal, president of Kingswood Properties Ltd., founding chair of We Day Vancouver and 2014 inductee to the Order.

“However, it comes with a price tag – the implicit requirement to continue giving back and hopefully, inspire others to do the same. It has motivated me to do more, try harder and I wear it with great pride!”

An independent advisory council, chaired by the chief justice of British Columbia, will consider nominations. Successful nominees will be appointed to the Order at a special ceremony at Government House in Victoria.

Any B.C. citizen can submit a nomination. More information, nomination forms and submission instructions are available online (, by email (, or by telephone (250 387-1616). All nominations must be submitted to the Honours and Awards Secretariat office in Victoria by Friday, March 4, 2016.